Thursday, 17 May 2018 00:00

Philippines: recognition of members of the Teresian Association for their professional activity

Lucille Abad Lucille Abad

MANILA, Philippines.
Four members of the Teresian Association in the Philippines have been recognized "for their joyful and exemplary testimony at work; for their efficient, competent and disinterested professional dedication."

Pharmaceutical science


Dr. Erna C. Arollado is current Director of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health of the University of the Philippines, Manila.  This year, 2018, she has received from the National Research Council of the Philippines the Achievement Award for Research in Pharmacy in recognition of her exemplary dedication and research contributions to Pharmaceutical Sciences, which are geared towards our country's self-sufficiency in pharmaceutical drugs and excipients,  and  towards the improvement of the quality of health in the country .

Earlier, in 2016, her contributions to pharmaceutical research were recognized by the University of San Agustin in Iloilo, which gave her the Most Outstanding Pharmacist in Research Award.  Also in 1916 she garnered from UP Manila the Professorial Award for Research and Public Service. 

The researches of Dr. Arollado maximize the use of plants, fruits and wastes of these for the production of health-giving products. 

Atomic Research Division 

Dr. Lucille Abad is Chief of the Atomic Research Division of the  Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST). Her dedication to the potentials of radiation technology has allowed her and her team of researchers to develop effective products that will serve agricultural, industrial, medical and environmental purposes through the use of natural polymers.  An example is the discovery of a formula that increases the yield of rice and other crops such as mungbean, peanuts and leafy vegetables by more than 20%. Her team won the 2017 FNCA (Forum for Nuclear Cooperation in Asia) Excellence Award which she received in Kazakhstan in October of 2017.  Earlier, on July 11, 2017 she received the Outstanding Research and Development Award for Applied Research (Julian A. Banzon medal) for her outstanding research on “Radiation Modified Carrageenan as Plant Food Supplement (CPFS)” that proved to be effective as plant growth promoter.  Moreover, she has been listed by Asian Scientist Magazine of Singapore in its  Asian Scientist 100 (2018 edition), among the 8 Filipino Scientists included in the 100 Asia-Pacific region's award-winning researchers, academicians, innovators and business leaders.

Asian Studies

0516-4Dr. Mª Cecilia Medina, professor of Asian Studies at the University of the Philippines Diliman Asian Center, has been appointed with permanent tenure as faculty member  of said Center.  She received, on February 6, 2018,   the UP Diliman Centennial Faculty Grant 1 July 2017 – 30 June 2018  from the Chancellor of UP Diliman for her achievements in the discipline of Asian Studies  as evidenced by her research: “Aftermath of the 2013 Zamboanga Siege: Peacebuilding Strategies from Civil Society”.  The study has been published in Philippine Sociological Review. 

Best teacher


Professor Maria Luna Vico, has recently retired as professor of Spanish, after more than 30 years of service, in the University of the Philippines Diliman College of Arts and Letters, Department of European Languages.  She  was voted  by the students as the Best Teacher of the Department  2017-2018 in a ceremony at the end of schoolyear 2017-2018 where teachers of other departments were also honored. 

TA Philippines offers these achievements to our Founder, Saint Pedro Poveda, who inspires us to undertake our work and profession as lay persons by sharing in God’s creative action immersed in the specific environments where we are called to serve and to give ourselves in service to others.  

Information: Teresita R-Infante




C/ Príncipe de Vergara, 88. 28006 Madrid, ESPAÑA